Kung-Fu (Kung-Pao) Chicken

 

Kung Pao Chicken

It just hit me. I have only posted desserts since I first created this blog.

Although that is a pretty accurate reflection of what type of food appeals most to me (I have always been one of those ‘eat dessert first’ type of people), I do make things that do not involve a pound of butter and 8 cups of sugar.

This recipe is near and dear to my heart. It was in my first cooking blog and is one of my ‘go-to’ meals when I am working late at the hospital and have very little energy to cook when I come home. Also, being a good little Jewish girl, I am obligated to eat Chinese  food on Christmas, so it is fitting that I am posting this on Christmas Eve.

To those who celebrate it, Merry Christmas to all! To those who do not celebrate Christmas (and who share my Chinese food and going out to the movies Christmas tradition), enjoy your day off!

Kung-Fu (Kung-Pao) Chicken

Ingredients

2-3 chicken breasts chopped in cubes
2Tbs soy sauce + 4Tbsp soy sauce
1/2 cup water
1 Tbs corn starch
Crushed red pepper flakes (amount varies depending on how much spice you like in your life)
1/2 tbs sugar
4 Tbsp lemon juice

Directions

Marinate chicken breasts in 2-3Tbsp soy sauce.
Meanwhile, combine water, corn starch, red pepper, sugar, lemon juice and remaining soy sauce in a small bowl.
Cook chicken in extra virgin olive oil 5-6 minutes on med-high heat. May add onion / pepper and cook 2-3 more minutes (we do not do this in our house due to my husband’s aversion to onion!).
Add mixture (with water, corn starch, etc.). Simmer for 5-10 min.
Enjoy!

Source: In-law Family recipe 🙂

One Trackback to “Kung-Fu (Kung-Pao) Chicken”

Leave a Reply

