Raspberry Cheesecake Cupcakes

 

Raspberry Cheesecake Cupcakes

I’m pretty sure that unless a person is lactose intolerant, there is absolutely no way for them to dislike cheesecake. So when my mother approached me the other day to make a dessert for her to take to work for a coworker’s birthday, I immediately thought of cheesecake cupcakes. Of course, Valentine’s Day is on my mind already so I couldn’t just make plain old cheesecake cupcakes, so I searched for a way to make them more festive, and stumbled upon Annie’s version of them that involved swirling raspberries into the top layer of them to create a beautiful finished marbled appearance.

After my mother called me the next day telling me that the cupcakes got rave reviews at work, I knew I had to bring them into work myself. Now, I have this rule about call nights. I always bring in baked goods when I’m on call. It makes call so much more pleasant for both myself (because seriously, who doesn’t want to be eating cheesecake on call between ICU admissions) and for the residents who are on with me.

Now, I usually don’t post blog entries on the weekends, but this post is for my mother….because her coworkers have been tirelessly asking her to bring the cheesecake cupcakes to work again. So here you go mom! Enjoy making these this weekend!

Raspberry Cheesecake Cupcakes

Ingredients

For the crust:
9 Honey Graham crackers
4 Tbsp unsalted butter, melted

For the filling:
16 oz cream cheese, softened
2 eggs
2 tsp vanilla
1/2 cup sugar

For the topping:
6 oz raspberries
2 Tbsp Sugar

Directions:

Preheat oven to 375° F. Line 12 cups of a mini muffin tin with paper liners.
For the crust, break the cinnamon graham crackers into chunks and pulse them in a food processor until they are fine crumbs.
With the crumbs in the food processor, pulse while slowly pouring in the melted butter until combined and resembling wet sand. Divide the crumbs between 12 cups of the prepared mini muffin tin, pressing the crumbs into the bottom and a little bit up the sides to form the crust. Set aside.
For the filling, beat softened cream cheese and egg in a medium bowl or in the bowl of a stand electric mixer until smooth and thoroughly combined.
Add vanilla and sugar, and continue beating until combined. Spoon the filling into each mini muffin cup, filling almost to the top.
To make the raspberry puree, combine the raspberries and sugar in a blender or food processor. Process until smooth, then pour through a fine mesh sieve to remove the seeds.
Dot a ½ teaspoon of the raspberry puree in a few dots over the cheesecake filling. Use a toothpick or a wooden skewer to lightly swirl and create a marbled effect.
Bake for 15 minutes, until the tops are no longer glossy and the centers are set.
Remove the cheesecakes from the pan and set on a wire rack to allow the cheesecakes to cool about 30 minutes at room temperature.
After 30 minutes, continue cooling the cheesecakes in the refrigerator for at least 1 hour.
Once cool, store cheesecakes in the refrigerator in an airtight container until ready to serve.

Sources: Adapted from: Craving Chronicles and Annie’s Eats

My mother's food styling of Cheesecake Cupcakes

One Trackback to “Raspberry Cheesecake Cupcakes”

Leave a Reply

