Buffalo Chicken Wrap

 

Buffalo Chicken Wrap

I can safely say that hospital food would fall under both my and my husband’s  list of ‘least favorite foods’. It is often fried and over-salted and just not very appetizing. However, once in a while, they will hit it spot on and make something actually good! Francis had the pleasure of visiting me at the hospital one day last year when they had buffalo chicken wraps and since then, he has been requesting that I make these wraps in our kitchen. I didn’t really have a recipe for them, but tried to throw them together with what I had and they actually turned out better than the originals (Homemade food tasting better than hospital food? Shocking!). Also, I know that ‘the match’ is not for two weeks (the day that decides where I will spend the next seven years of my life for residency), but if it happens to not be at my current hospital, it’ll be nice to know that I will have this dish as a reminder of my med school hospital.

Buffalo Chicken Wraps

Ingredients

For the chicken:

2 boneless skinless chicken breasts, cut into bite-sized pieces
1/2 cup all purpose flour
1/2 cup buttermilk
1/3 cup Frank’s Buffalo Wing Sauce
2 Tbsp Butter, melted
salt and pepper
Vegetable oil (approximately 2Tbsp)

For the wraps:


3-4 9″ Flour tortillas
Shredded lettuce
Ranch dressing for spreading
1 Roma tomato
Mexican blend shredded cheese
1/2 chopped shallot

Directions:

Place flour seasoned with salt and pepper in a shallow dish.
Pour the buttermilk in another dish.
Dip the chicken pieces in the buttermilk followed by into the flour.
Heat up the vegetable oil in a skillet and cook the chicken pieces for 7-10 minutes, turning occasionally.
Meanwhile, in a bowl, mix the melted butter and buffalo sauce.
When the chicken is cooked through, throw the chicken into the bowl with the buffalo sauce and toss to coat.
Heat up a tortilla and spread ranch dressing on it. Add vegetables and chicken.
Enjoy!

Source: Adapted from: Eat at Allie’s

Leave a Reply

